Jeanne Mitchell

Senate Senior Advisor | ExxonMobil Washington Office

Jeanne O. Mitchell is Senior Director, Federal Relations in ExxonMobil's Washington, D.C. government relations office.  She is responsible for contacts and advocacy with the United States Senate across a vast spectrum of energy and business issues.   She assumed her current role in 2015. In 2002, she provided a similar role for the U.S. House of Representatives for ExxonMobil. She has been cited multiple times by Hill publications as one of the outstanding energy lobbyists.  

Previously she served as Global Communications Manager based in Irving, Texas, where she led the company's worldwide corporate communications including the first-ever Summary Annual Report and Corporate Citizenship Report.  

Jeanne joined Mobil Corporation in 1986 and has served in a variety of managerial and professional positions in Mobil and ExxonMobil, and has worked with affiliates worldwide at various stages throughout her career.  

Her public affairs expertise encompasses government relations, issues management, media relations, Foundation, community relations, and crisis response.  She was awarded the 2001 Telly Award for "Regardless of Where" a documentary of the Hoover-Diana construction and in 1996 was awarded a Silver Anvil Award by the Public Relations Society of America for the "Friendly Serve Academy."  

She obtained a BA and MA from the Institute of Food and Resource Economics in the College of Agriculture at the University of Florida with major emphasis from the College of Journalism and Communications.  After receiving her Masters Degree, she was awarded an Assistant Professorship to teach classes and manage the Instructional Materials Service publishing books and curriculum guides on Low Energy Technology.

She lives in Oakton, VA, with her family including two sons.  She serves as a Board Member of the National Energy Resouces Organization, the National Capitol Area Counsel of the Boy Scouts of America, the Congressional Sportsmens’ Foundation and the University of Florida Foundation National Board.